Find out which documents (visas or permits) are required to enter and stay in the Republic of Croatia

As of 1 July 2013, the Republic of Croatia, as a member state of the European Union, applies the common visa policy of the Union in the part related to the common visa regime.

Visa is approved for:
• transit through or intended stay in the territory of Croatia for up to 90 days in each period of 180 days;
• transit through the International Transit Area of ​​Airports in Croatia.

The types of visas are:
• Air-transit visa (Visa A)
• short-term visa (visa C).

A visa is issued for one, two or more entries for transit, tourist, business, private or other travel.

The validity of the visa depends on the circumstances of foreign travel to Croatia and can not be longer than five years.

Only possession of a visa is not a guarantee of entry into Croatia, but must be fulfilled and the rest of the Aliens Act stipulates the conditions for entry of aliens.

On the basis of a visa, an alien can not work in the territory of the Republic of Croatia.

An examination of the visa system, ie whether a foreigner needs a visa or not for Croatia, is available on the web site of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and European Affairs of the Republic of Croatia.

View your visa system.

Foreign citizens are advised to ask for additional information at the competent Croatian Embassy / Consulate prior to travel, ie to check the basic visa information system valid between Croatia and other states / entities on the public web pages of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and European Affairs.

By the decision of the Government of the Republic of Croatia, dated 22 July 2014, the application of Decision no. 565/2014 / EU. All foreigners who are holders of valid Schengen documents as well as those who hold visa and residence permits to Bulgaria, Cyprus and Romania do not need an additional (Croatian) visa for Croatia.

• unique visas (C) valid for all Schengen states, valid for two or more entries
• Visas with limited regional validity (LTV) issued to the holder of a travel document which is not recognized by one or more but not all Schengen States, valid for the territory of the States
which recognize this travel document, valid for two or more entries
• Long-stay visas (D) for a stay longer than 90 days, issued by one of the Schengen member states
• residence permits issued by one of the Schengen member states
• Visas, valid for two or more entries, and Bulgarian residence permits, as indicated in Annex I to Decision no. 565/2014 / EU
• visas, valid for two or more entries, and residence permits of Cyprus, as indicated in Annex III. Decisions no. 565/2014 / EU
• visas, valid for two or more entries, and residence permits of Romania, as indicated in Annex IV. Decisions no. 565/2014 / EU

do not need a transit visa, or a intended stay in Croatia that does not exceed 90 days in any 180-day period.

The text of the decision can be found in the Official Journal of the European Union: Decision no. 565/2014 of the European Parliament and of the Council.

The validity of the aforesaid documents recognized as equivalent to the Croatian visa shall cover the duration of transit or stay in Croatia. Facilitated entry of foreign nationals is in effect until the date of full application of the provisions of the Schengen acquis in Croatia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *